And I Quote – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

I love quotes which is one of the reasons I underline so much while reading. Originally I was going to list out a few of my favorites again from various novels, but that becomes almost impossible when one book has too many to choose from. Which means for the this post, I’m going to do my top 5 favorite quotes from Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

hitchhiker's guide

5. “Isn’t it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?”

4. “The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.”

3. “For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.”

2. “In the beginning the Universe was created.
This had made many people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move.”

1. “He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it.”

I love the way he writes and I wish I could replicate it better. Every sentence he makes sounds equally wise and ridiculous which makes it addictive to read. I like to refer to it as “clever silliness” and it’s something I wish I could find more of in books.

What are some of your favorite quotes from this book or any other?

Leave a Reply

